We are in the city and walking to the Archaeological Museum. The Archaeological Museum of Chios, as a building, is a representative example of the architecture of the '60s (visible concrete and glass on the walls), which combines the local element of the Thymianus stone. After its renovation, in 2000, its archeological treasures were re-exhibited, with a modern museological program. The permanent exhibition of the Museum's archeological findings, entitled "Chios the whole city of Oinopion" (Chios, the seaside town of Oinopion) includes representative samples of Art and daily life in Chios, from the Mycenaean period, as well as the late Roman Empire. . The exhibition includes findings from the excavations of the English School of Archeology in Ag. Galas, Emporio, Dotia and Fana, from the excavations of Nikolaos Kontoleontos in Rizari and the rescue excavations of KPS EPKA, mainly in the city of Chios. It also includes objects that were carefully selected by the extraordinary curator of Antiquities, Antonios Stefanou, in the 1960s and 1970s, as well as objects that were occasionally delivered by citizens of Chios. The courtyards of the Museum exhibit architectural members and inscriptions, as well as the restoration of a unique Macedonian tomb type, found in the area of Frangomahalas.
There is also a periodical exhibition hall, which houses the findings from the Mycenaean cemetery at the Fishermen's Mansion. Then we head to the Korai Library. The Public Central Historical Library of Chios "Korais" is one of the oldest and largest in Greece. Its history begins in 1792, when it functioned as a branch of the Great School of Chios and its first nucleus were the books of Adamantios Korais and Greek scholars. During the Massacre of Chios in 1822, the Library was destroyed, but Korais sent books again. After the death of Ad. Korai, in 1833, and according to his will, a large part of his books and manuscripts come to Chios. After the great earthquake of 1881, the Library was housed in the present building. In 1948, on the initiative of F. Argentis, the construction of the second floor began, while important works of expansion and modernization took place in the years 1975-1978, in order to house the folklore collection of F. Argentis. Over the years, the Library has amassed invaluable collections of books, manuscripts of magazines, newspapers, paintings, coins, relics and maps donated by great spiritual people. An invaluable treasure of the Library is the donation of Napoleon the Great in honor of Adamantios Korais "Déscription de l'Egypte", consisting of 14 illustrated volumes (1809-1822). Korais was born in 1748.
Leaving the Library on the other side of the road is the Museum of Physics and History. Much of the reconstruction effort of the History & Physics Museum, which began in 1999, has now been completed. In the four large rooms on the ground floor of our school are housed today the collections of history-folklore, scientific instruments, as well as a large library. Concluding our visit to the Museum, we head to the Castle of Chios. The Castle of Chios extends to the north of the center of the city of Chios and is its walled core from the time of the Genoese onwards. The entrance is from the main gate (Porta Maggiore) at its southern end, built by the Venetians in 1694, and from the now destroyed "Upper Door" (Portello) on its NW side.
The walls of the Castle are divided into land and sea, forming an irregular pentagon where strong bastions dominate along the walls, eight of which survive, some in very good condition and others not. Near the gate and inside the castle there is a two-storey building, known as the "Justinian Palace". in 1822, during the Greek.