Avgonima is a small village of Chios built of stone in its western part, with a population of 14 (2011 census) and is built at an altitude of 475 meters above sea level.
The village, like neighboring Anavatos, is an old, pre-medieval castle village, while according to local legend it was created by the workers who built the magnificent New Convent in the 11th century AD. and then stayed in Chios. The houses are built of stone and with small windows to protect them from pirate raids during the Middle Ages. According to tradition, the village was once destroyed by pirates, like Anavatos.
During sunset, the view of the Aegean Sea and Psara, the medieval observation site and the clear Elinda beach are unique motifs for travelers. Also, the taverns of the village can taste delicious appetizers from local products.
Anavatos is an almost abandoned medieval settlement of central Chios, which according to the 2011 census has only one resident. It is at the top of a steep hill of 450 meters, which was given to it by the name Mystras of the Aegean. " Anavatos has a natural fortification and is surrounded by two canyons, while access to the settlement is only possible from the north. It is 16 kilometers from the town of Chios.
The name of the settlement is due to the difficult location in which it was built. The word comes from the verb "ascend" which signifies the ascension from low to high. Moreover, according to the local idiomatic dialect of Chios, the term Anavatos defines the difficult.
The old core of the settlement was destroyed during the events of the slaughter of Chios, when Anavatos was besieged and destroyed by the Ottoman troops. At the same time, a large number of survivors settled in Ermoupolis, Syros, Chios, etc.
The main settlement was permanently abandoned after the earthquake of 1881 and its remaining inhabitants settled on the curbs of the hill, in the lower part of Anavatos. The occupations of the Anavatouss during the late Turkish occupation revolved around land cultivation and animal husbandry. It was a place of martyrdom, the last stronghold of freedom and the Zalgos of Chios, which betrayed the hands of the conqueror.
To this day, the great Taxiarch is still alive, the only building that stands proudly far from the mysterious serenity of this dead-air city. It is the so-called "Three-storey" consisting of the olive grove, the schoolhouse, the tank and the church of the Virgin Mary. The monumental settlement is a poem of beauty thanks to its towering houses, arches, arches and almost vertical cobbled streets.
Nea Moni is actually an old historical monastery, founded in 1042 AD. and is known worldwide for its fine art mosaics. It is celebrated on the occasion of the Feast of the Dormition of the Virgin Mary (August 23rd). Nea Moni is located in the center of the island of Chios, at a distance of 12 kilometers from the city of Chios. The architectural complex of the monastery is located at an altitude of 670 meters above sea level, in a valley of the southern Sheep Mountain or Sheep.
The mosaics of the Nea Monı of Chios constitute one of the top three mosaic ensembles in Greece during the Middle Ages. The other two are the mosaics of the Hosios Loukas Monastery in Boeotia and the Daphni Monastery in Attica (Dafni). The artists who worked here were Constantinople politicians of the imperial art studios.
During the nearly 1,000 years of its existence, the monastery has been tested many times by catastrophes. The worst of all happened in the 19th century, first in 1822 when the Ottoman monastery burned and plundered, and then in 1881, when a powerful earthquake ("spoiling") destroyed buildings in the complex.
Nea Monı, because of its exceptional importance in terms of Art History and Architecture, belongs to the monuments designated as World Heritage Sites and protected by UNESCO.