espa-kanaristous

Volissos-Malaggiotis


We start our journey from the central church of the Transfiguration of the Savior in Volissos. We head to the periphery of the village, which leads to the villages on the east side of Amani. At a short distance we see the wooden sign that defines the direction of the path. From there begins a downhill path with a fence on its left. The path descends until it meets a rural road, which we follow until we meet on our right, a short path to the churches of the Transfiguration of the Savior and the Holy Apostles. We return to the dirt road where we continue to the right, until we cross an asphalt road. We turn left on the asphalt and at a distance of fifty meters we meet our right dirt road. We follow the dirt road, we pass through the dry river, which crosses it and we walk among old fields with olives. Through the burnt trunks of the olive trees, the new olives (barren) have sprouted and developed again. Many of the estates look abandoned, but there are some more neat. The dirt road continues to a three-lane road, where we follow to the right, reaching the area of ​​Vasilika, where the old church of Agios Georgios is located. The church is closed but can be visited by appointment.We continue on a path that leads to the watermills of the area. Our course takes place on a clean path that follows in many places the irrigation ditch, which moves in the line of watermills. Along a route of 1800 meters from Agios Georgios, we will meet four watermills. In the fourth there is also a formed rest area, with wooden seats.The first mill is dilapidated, but nevertheless we can see its well-preserved mulberry and its bush. In this area there was an old settlement, which is called "the village of Kokkinos".Returning to the path, we continue our route parallel to the ditch, which brought the water of Malaggioti to the cisterns of the watermills.A short distance from the first watermill we will find the second, most well-preserved mill in the area, as it is the only one that maintains the roof and all its spaces. Inside there are still millstones and in one corner a well-built fireplace. The impeller is absent, the plug is in very good condition and the cistern space is visible.The third watermill is in ruins, except for the well, which is quite well preserved. In its demolished interior, we can see the millstones and the swallow under the rubble.

At the end of the path is the fourth watermill, of the Cayanda family, with a millstone inside, dated 1906. Next to the mill we see the ruins of old buildings, which obviously served as grain warehouses.At this point, we can now meet again the riparian dirt road that leads to Panagia ton Loutra or Neromylon and the fifth watermill. The route follows the dirt road for about 200 meters where a small sign on the right, shows us the tributary path to Panagia ton Neromylon.Continuing to walk parallel to the riverbed, we reach the church of Panagia ton Loutron or Neromylon, where a place for stopping and resting has been formed.At the end of the route there is a meadow, where the fifth ruined watermill is located, an old manganese well and various other buildings, which were probably used for storage.Our return follows the route back to the fourth watermill. From there we continue to the third watermill, where we will meet on our right the path to Volissos. The path moves uphill, until we meet a dirt road, which we follow to the left. On the left side of the route, on the hillside, there is a well-preserved threshing floor. Our route continues on a dirt road for about 1600 meters, until we meet an asphalt road. We have now reached the perimeter provincial road Volissos - Chios, where we will turn right to Volissos. We will continue for about 500 meters on the provincial road until we meet our right entrance on an uphill path. The path ascends to the provincial road Volissos - N. Potamias. As soon as we go up the last steps of the path we reach the paved road, which we cross vertically in the direction of the Castle of Volissos. Our route ends with our entrance to the village and descending to the square, where we started. During our descent we meet traditional architecture stone buildings and many of the churches of Volissos.

Volissos: Volissos is the largest village in northwestern Chios, 42 km from the city of Chios. It is built amphitheatrically on the hillside, at the top of which is preserved a ruined Byzantine castle, in the shape of a table with six circular towers in the place of a small ancient city called Volissos or Voliskos and is mentioned by tradition as a place where Homer lived.
The watermills: Although most of the area is in ruins, we can observe them and understand their function, which in general is as follows:A ditch led the water from the river to the cistern of the mill. From the cistern, through the mud, the water rushed to the buzzer, where the impeller was. The impeller turned and transmitted, via an iron shaft (swallow), the motion to the millstone, which was located in the main area of ​​the mill. The grains (wheat, barley, oats) were rubbed between the two millstones and the flour came out.